Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 03:59:57 pm

Author Topic: New here, Cosi essay please help  (Read 1592 times)  Share 

pattyfurg

• Victorian
  • Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
  • School: St Monicas College
New here, Cosi essay please help
« on: August 26, 2013, 07:51:48 pm »
I am studying year 12 at the moment and I gave this piece in to my teacher but she wouldn't accept it. She also didn't tell me what was wrong and I'm horrible at writing essays XS please help

In a mad world it is hard to define who is sane. How is this evident through the characters?
In Lous Nowra's 'Cosi', the protagonist, Lewis, takes on the role of directing an opera with patients in a mental asylum. Through these patients and other characters within the play, it is evident that in a mad world it is hard to define who is sane. This concept is portrayed with characters such as Julie and Doug, through their extremely contrasting mental 'illnesses'. In 'Cosi' Lous Nowra mocks the irony of societies assessment of what is sane by comparing the patients mental stability to the treatment of the patients. Furthermore, their past is the reason they have been diagnosed with their mental illness, along with societies fear towards these people are the reason they are in the asylum.